Planting Sequoias

In which I blog about a life (hopefully) well lived.

In which I trade a chair I found in a dumpster for $40.

Leave a comment

About 2 months ago, Kenny dropped me off at my apartment on a Sunday evening before he headed back to Lansing.

As we drove into the parking lot, I could see two chairs that people had thrown away–one on top of the dumpster and one right next to it…Ken immediately started to protest. He knows my hoarder tendencies. So I promised that I would leave them there.

But after he left, I just couldn’t stop thinking about it.

I made a trip out there “just to look at them.”

And ended up hauling both of them back to my apartment with me.

 

(I do not normally make a practice of doing the opposite of what I say.)

 

But I had a plan.

After some warm, soapy water, I had this:

So pretty, right?

That’s when my plan backfired. I wanted to keep it–NOT in the plan.

Let’s take a closer look:

 

 

(OH! That turquoise! Those tiny yellow and pink flowers! That worn, dark wood with the inlaid pattern on top! I love it all.)

The voice of reason in my head (and the thought of what Ken would say) won.

So with a little copywriter’s love, I posted this bad boy on Craigslist and waited.

And yesterday, I traded it to someone for 2 $20 bills.

 

In the end, both Kenny and I ended up happy. I got to rescue the gorgeous chair and Ken is glad we don’t have to keep it. He likes the extra dollars too.

 

Please validate me by leaving a comment. (Why yes, I am begging.) Do it.